< June >
About the NWTTA Teaching in the NWT Publications FAQs
 Print this page   
Three NWT Employers - Three Collective Agreements | Divisional Education Councils/School Boards - Contact Information

Three NWT Employers - Three Collective Agreements

The Northwest Territories Teachersí Association (NWTTA) negotiates three collective agreements on behalf of its members.

Depending upon which jurisdiction NWT teachers and administrators work in, they are covered under one of three contracts.

Collective agreements for NWT educational assistants are generally with the Union of Northern Workers (UNW), unless they work for Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1). YK1 Educational assistants are NWTTA members and are covered under the YK1 contract.

Your Collective Agreement:

  • Determines the terms and conditions of employment;
  • Defines teacher benefits, wages, rights and responsibilities;
  • Clarifies the relationship between the teacher, the principal, the Divisional Education Council (DEC) or District Education Authority (DEA) and the superintendent;
  • Serves all members in the bargaining unit; and
  • Assists the NWTTA to serve its members.

 Click on a specific employer to view collective agreement (PDF)

  1. Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT)
  2. Yellowknife Catholic Schools (YCS)
  3. Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1)
For more information about each NWTTA Region view the homepage map.