< May >
About the NWTTA Teaching in the NWT Publications FAQs
 Print this page   

School Division           

NOTE: Educators working within the NWTTA Regions of Fort Smith and South Slave operate under the direction of the Northwest Territories’ South Slave Divisional Education Council.

Located in Fort Smith NT, the Northwest Territories’ (NWT) South Slave Divisional Education Council (SSDEC) administers K-12 education in eight schools located within this NWT region’s five communities (which includes the NWTTA Region of Fort Smith).

In total, the SSDEC (NWTTA regions of Fort Smith and South Slave) serves close to 1,500 students. NWTTA members who teach for the SSDEC include teachers and school administrators. These members are governed under a collective agreement with Government of the Northwest Territories.

South Slave Divisional Education Council
P.O. Box 510
Fort Smith, NT, Canada X0E 0P0
Telephone: (867) 872-5701; Fax: (867) 872-2150
Website: ssdec.nt.ca

Fort Smith, NT – Population 2,459
  • Joseph B Tyrrell School (K-6 English; K-2 French Immersion) – 20 NWTTA Members
  • Address: Bag Service #1; X0E 0P0
  • Phone: 867-872-4528

  • Paul W. Kaeser High School (7-12) – 26 NWTTA Members
  • Address: Box 480; X0E 0P0
  • Phone: 867-872-4795
NOTE: This map identifies the eight NWTTA Regions within the Northwest Territories. These differ from regions for the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) Divisional Education Councils (DECs)/School Boards.

What’s New
 Print this page   

NWTTA Newsletter (April 2017)

NWT Education Today 2017 (14MB PDF)


Strengthening Teacher Instructional Practices (STIP) (January 23, 2017)

STIP Medial Technical Briefing

STIP Backgrounder

2016-2017 School Year Calendars

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Directive Form

PD Conference List (updated October 5, 2016)


How did you arrive at our website?
Clicked on link in NWTTA email
Search results
Used my bookmark