< June >
About the NWTTA Teaching in the NWT Publications FAQs
 Print this page   
nj macpherson willliam mcdonald j h sission range lake north midred hall sir john frankin high k alemi dene school kaw tay

School Board             

Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1), a public school board, is located in the capital city of Yellowknife, NT and serves close to 2,000 students. YK1’s 215 NWTTA members include teachers, school administrators and educational assistants. These members are governed under a collective agreement with Yellowknife Education District No. 1.

Yellowknife Education District No. 1
P.O. Box 788; 5402- 50th Avenue
Yellowknife, NT, Canada X1A 2N6
Phone: (867) 766-5050; Fax: (867) 873-5051
Website: yk1.nt.ca

NOTE: Yellowknife is home to two NWTTA Regions, Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1) and Yellowknife Catholic Schools (YCS). Within these regions YK1 and YCS operate two individual School Boards similar to the Government of the Northwest Territories’ (GNWT) Divisional Education Councils (DECs) located in the regions outside of Yellowknife. 

In addition, Yellowknife is home to an GNWT Franchophone Divisional Education Council (DEC) - commission scolaire francophone des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (CSF, TNO). This DEC is not recognized as an individual NWTTA Region.

CSF, TNO operates two schools within the Northwest Territories. NWTTA members at École Boréale in Hay River and École Allain St-Cyr in Yellowknife provide quality French first language programming to close to 200 francophone students. These NWTTA members are part of the NWTTA’s South Slave and Tlicho Regions, respectively.

Commission scolaire francophone des Territoires du Nord-Ouest; 4920 51e rue, C.P 1980; Yellowknife; NT; Canada; X1A 2P5; Tél : (867) 873-6555; Fax : (867) 873-5644; Site web : www.csftno.com

Yellowknife Education District No. 1 Schools
Yellowknife, NT – Population 19,256

  • École Sir John Franklin High School (9-12 English; 9-12 French Immersion) - 61 NWTTA Members
  • Note - SJF includes Akaitcho Trades and Technical Centre
  • Address: P.O. Box 1200; X1A 2N8

  • École J.H. Sissons (K-5 French Immersion) - 19 NWTTA Members
  • Address: 5700-51A Avenue; X1A 1G7
  • Phone: 867-873-3477
  • Mildred Hall School (K-8) - 37 NWTTA Members
  • Address: 5408-50th Avenue; X1A 1E5
  • Phone: 867-873-5811

  • N.J. Macpherson School (K-5) - 27 NWTTA Members
  • Address: 525 Range Lake Road; X1A 3X1
  • Phone: 867-873-4372

  • Range Lake North School (K-8) - 26 NWTTA Members
  • Address: 170 Borden Drive; X1A 3R1
  • Phone: 867-920-7567

  • École William McDonald Middle School (6-8 English; 6-8 French Immersion)- 18 NWTTA Members
  • Address: 50 Taylor Road; X1A 3X2
  • Phone: 867-873-5814

NOTE: Dettah is a small community located southeast of Yellowknife. This school does not show on the map above.

  • Kaw Tay Whee Community School of Dettah (K-9) - 3 NWTTA Members
  • Address: P.O. Box 40; X1A 2N1
  • Phone: 867-873-4303
NOTE: Nidlo is a small community located adjacent to Yellowknife

  • K’alemi Dene Community School of Ndilo (K-12) - 8 NWTTA Members
  • Address: P.O. Box 236; X1A 2N2
  • Phone: 867-920-7260
NOTE: This map identifies the eight NWTTA Regions within the Northwest Territories. These differ from regions for the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) Divisional Education Councils (DECs)/School Boards.